SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT – Whitehaven 10th February

Jason Payne has named an extended 21 man squad for Sunday’s final pre-season friendly against Whitehaven, before the start of the highly anticipated 2019 Betfred League One season at Kingston Park Stadium on Saturday February 16.

Included within the squad-list is new signing Keal Carlile who joined from Featherstone Rovers at the start of this year. He will be joined by an impressive eight academy players who have earned their chance to be called up.

After impressing on debut against Trinity, Alex Donaghy is recalled and is joined by academy team-mates Rory Nettleton,. Anthony Dyne, Cai Ellis, Dan White, James McGurk, Nathan Clemmitt, Rory Nettleton and Tom Wilcox, who will all be making their debut for the first team in a game that will provide them vital experience in their player development.

Speaking about his squad, Thunder head coach Jason Payne said:

“I am really excited to be giving so many academy lads an opportunity on Sunday. We are quite close to the season so we don’t want to play too many players with just a six-day turnaround, so this has resulted in a great opportunity to put academy players in that first team environment.

“As a team it is a great opportunity for us to get out there at Whitehaven, on a tough pitch and go against a tough team, giving a chance for the young lads to put their hand up. Then hopefully we can then head in next week firing into Doncaster at the Double Header. “

Newcastle Thunder squad

v Whitehaven RLFC – Sunday 10th February KO 3pm

Alex Clegg, Alex Donaghy, Anthony Dyne, Arron Ollett, Cai Ellis, Conor Clayton, Conor Fitzsimmons, Dan White, David Weetman, James McGurk, Jared Blanke, Jed Charlton, Joe Brown, Keal Carlile, Liam Richmond, Nathan Clemmitt, Niall Sidney, Rhys Clarke, Rory Nettleton, Tom Wilcox, Tyler Craig