SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT: Keighley Cougars 8th Sept

Newcastle Thunder have named a strong 19-man squad for their visit to Keighley Cougars on Sunday afternoon as they aim to round out the Betfred League 1 regular season on a strong note.

There are returns into the list for Liam McAvoy and Harry Aldous after recovery from injury, whilst Jared Blanke also comes back into the squad from which Sunday’s 17-man line up will be selected.

Thunder travel to Cougar Park with ambitions to secure runners up spot in the final standings and secure home ties during the promotion playoffs, but will have to overcome a side with a solid home record in 2019, having taken six wins from nine matches played.

Newcastle need to prevent Keighley from extending that tally if they are to have any chance of finishing second but also need Whitehaven to be confirmed as champions following their match against Coventry Bears and for Oldham to lose out to Hunslet at the South Leeds Stadium on Sunday.

The focus will be squarely on their own result however, with Rhys Clarke predicting a tough encounter in West Yorkshire.

The second row said: “Keighley are a threat, they want to go out there and win for themselves and they won’t be bothered if that spoils anyone’s party. They aren’t going to roll over and just take a defeat.

“It’s the last game of the season, at home and they are going to want to show up and beat us and that’s the way it should be. Every game in the competition should be close and I am looking forward to it.”

Sunday’s match kicks off at 3pm with spaces still available on the official supporters coach for just £5 per person.

Fewer than 10 are left so any supporters wishing to travel and cheer on the team should email jordan.robinson@newcastle-thunder.co.uk to secure the place aboard.

Newcastle Thunder squad

v Keighley Cougars, Sunday 8th September 2019 KO 3pm


Harry Aldous, Jared Blanke, Joe Brown, Rhys Clarke, Alex Clegg, Joel Edwards, Conor Fitzsimmons, Kieran Gill, Sam Luckley, Quentin Laulu-Togaga’e Liam McAvoy, Muizz Mustapha, Nick Newman, Aaron Ollett, Alex Rowe, Evan Simons, Misi Taulapapa, Matty Wright, Lewis Young