TEAM NEWS – U16 Scholarship team to start the season

The U16 Scholarship 2019 season get’s underway this weekend as Newcastle Thunder look to extend last year’s successes as they face London Broncos this Sunday at Ealing Trailfinders, 2pm kick off.

In 2018 Newcastle Thunder demonstrated the quality of rugby talent that is currently developing across the North East as they claimed scholarship wins against Widnes Vikings, London Broncos, Wakefield Trinity and Leeds Rhinos.

U16 head coach Jordan Robinson says:

“I’m really looking forward to seeing how the team plays over these eight games, the squad has progressed really well in training and the game phase is an exciting part of the year for all the players and staff.”

Newcastle Thunder Scholarship Squad:

1, Elliot Shaw – Yarm Wolves

2, Owen Foster – Whitley Bay Barbarians

3, Jonny Dodd – Seaton Rangers

4, Matty Kehoe – Gateshead Storm

5, Lennox Barry – Yarm Wolves

6, Benji Kinloch – Cramlington Rockets

7, Ciaran Walker – Seaton Rangers

8, Aidan Simpson – Yarm Wolves

9, Ryan Crossley – Gateshead Storm

10, Tyler Hepple – Gateshead Storm

11, Henry Bowler – Yarm Wolves

12, Jake Anderson – Gateshead Storm

13, Noel Branthwaite – Hensingham


14, Cameron Young – Whitley Bay Barbarians

15, Michael Rewcastle – Gateshead Storm

16, Oscar Fisher – Gateshead Storm

17, Matthew Parks – Gateshead Storm

18, Jakob Ogundipe – Yarm Wolves

19, Jeremy Civil – Catterick Crusaders

20, Lee Jay Robinson – Gateshead Storm