2019 celebrated at end of year awards.

Newcastle Thunder brought the curtain down on a highly positive 2019 season on Friday evening, as the club held an end of year dinner at Kingston Park Stadium.

Incorporating the annual awards night for players across the club’s teams at the same time, players, staff and supporters gathered to celebrate a hugely enjoyable campaign.

A total of 12 awards were handed out over the course of the evening, with the achievements of the Under 15s, Under 16s, Under 19s and first team all recognised as well as the tireless efforts of the clubman of the year with the Neil Coombs award.

In the two awards handed out to the Under 15s setup, Jeremy Civil walked away with the Players’ player of the year and Michael Rewcastle picked up the Coaches player of the year while in the Under 16s, Jake Anderson and Noel Braithwaite were the respective recipients.

The Under 19s saw Ollie Gowing scoop both Players’ player and Coaches’ player gongs, as the young hooker prepares to step up into the first team for 2020, while Isaac Nokes was recognised as the most improved player in the age group.

After seizing the chances presented to him and ending up as the club’s second highest try scorer, Alex Clegg was named Young Player of the season, with the man who beat him to the top spot in the try tally and his left edge partner Kieran Gill taking the Coaches’ Player of the year award.

Players’ Player was fittingly awarded to the departing Liam McAvoy who has headed to Australia after an impressive three season at Kingston Park Stadium, while the Thunder Army’s player of the year was named as club stalwart Rhys Clarke.

Away from the pitch, Bevan Leeke was awarded the Neil Coombs award in recognition of his service to the club across the year.

With the evening brought to a close by a set from the one and only Mike Memphis, attentions now turn to 2020, with the first on-field action of the year just five weeks away, in the shape of the visit of Whitehaven on January 11th.

Newcastle Thunder 2019 Awards – Winners in full

U15s Players’ Player of the Year – Jeremy Civil

U15s Coaches’ Player of the Year – Michael Rewcastle

U16s Players’ Player of the Year – Jake Anderson

U16s Coaches’ Player of the Year – Noel Branthwaite

U19s Players’ Player of the Year – Ollie Gowing

U19s Coaches’ Player of the Year – Ollie Gowing

U19s Most improved Player of the Year – Isaac Nokes

Neil Coombs Award – Bevan Leeke

Thunder Army Player of the Year – Rhys Clarke

First Team Young Player of the Year – Alex Clegg

First Team Coaches Player of the Year – Kieran Gill

First Team Players’ Player of the Year – Liam McAvoy