Scotland call up for Thunder duo

Thunder back row Sam Luckley and outside back Niall Sidney have been named in the Scotland train-on squad for the upcoming Rugby League World Cup 20201 qualifiers against Serbia and Greece.

23-year-old Luckley has been a key figure for Thunder in their impressive 2019 season, making 21 appearances as his side qualified for the Betfred League 1 promotion playoff final against Oldham.

Choosing to pursue rugby league as his sport of choice following a childhood where rugby union, football and cage fighting commanded his attention, Luckley has established himself as a talented forward in the 13 man code.

Starting out at Wallsend Eagles, Luckley has been part of the Newcastle Thunder set up since 2016 and has made a total of 74 appearances for his home town club and made his Scotland debut in 2018’s European Championships, with appearances against Ireland and Wales.

A product of the Thunder Academy, Sidney has been part of the Newcastle Thunder first team for the last two seasons.

A product of Peterlee Pumas, the 20-year-old featured for Thunder against West Wales Raider in this year’s Coral Challenge Cup and the 1895 Cup tie against Keighley Cougars.

Scotland line up in Pool B for the World Cup qualifiers and will take on Serbia at the Lochinch Police Ground in Glasgow on October 26th before meeting Greece in London on November 1st, with the top two sides progressing to the 2021 tournament which will see five games hosted at venues across the North East.


Brett Carter (Barrow Raiders), David Scott (Batley Bulldogs), Brandan Wilkinson, Frankie Mariano (Doncaster), Craig Robertson, Lewis Clarke, Mikey Mair (Edinburgh Eagles), Matt Hogg (Edinburgh Eagles/Newcastle University), Scott Plumridge (Glasgow RL), Ben Kavanagh (Halifax), Kieran Buchanan (Hull FC), Danny Addy, Kane Linnett, Will Oakes (Hull KR), Davey Dixon, Kieran Moran (Keighley Cougars), Nick Glohe (Lakes United Seagulls), Callum Mclelland (Leeds Rhinos), Liam Hood (Leigh Centurions), Ben Hellewell (London Broncos), Charlie Emslie, Connor Terrill (Millom), Dan Turland (Murwillumbah Mustangs), Niall Sidney, Sam Luckley (Newcastle Thunder), Lachlan Stein (Newtown Jets), Izaac Farrell (Rochdale Hornets), Adam Walker (Salford), Campbell Graham (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Lachlan Coote, Luke Douglas (St Helens), Murray Mitchell, Niall Hall (Strathmore Silverbacks), Oscar Thomas (Swinton Lions), Ryan Brierley (Toronto Wolfpack), James Bell (Toulouse Olympique), Hamish Bentley, Kane Bentley (Toulouse Olympique Elite), Joe Mclean, Sam Herron (West Wales Raiders), Alex Walker (Wakefield Trinty), Brett Phillips (Whitehaven RLFC), Dale Ferguson, Oliver Wilkes (Unattached)