SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT – Wakefield Trinity 19th January

Newcastle Thunder have named a 23-man squad for Saturday’s pre-season friendly against Wakefield Trinity at Kingston Park Stadium (KO 2pm) with a host of the club’s new signings set to feature in the game.

Jason Payne’s side take their first steps on a journey that is hoped will lead to promotion into Rugby League’s championship this weekend, with Thunder dual-registration partner providing the opposition and naming a squad filled with their Super League stars.

Amongst the debuts taking place this weekend, Liam Finn will line up against the side from which he joined Thunder over the winter, while Samoan international Misi Taulapapa makes his Newcastle bow after moving to the North East from Featherstone Rovers.

There is set to be involvements for a number of the club’s homegrown talents too, with U19 academy graduates Alex Clegg, Kieran Hudson and Jed Charlton all named in the match-day squad, along with two exciting prospects from the 2019 junior ranks.

New intake Sean Croston gets his first run out in Thunder colours since joining after moving to the North East to study at Northumbria University, while 17-year-old Alex Donaghy has the opportunity to a wider audience why he was named a Sport Newcastle rising star in 2018.

A product of Cramlington Rockets, Donaghy will be the youngest player ever to make a first-team debut from the academy system.

For the opposition, an incredibly strong Wakefield squad has been announced, as Chris Chester gears up for the start of the new Super League campaign away to London Broncos on February 3rd.

Included within the 25-man squad, Tom Johnston is considered to be one of the top wingers operating in Super League, while Australian prop Pauli Pauli and New Zealander Justin Horo and are all expected to take to the field this coming weekend.

Tickets for Saturday’s pre-season friendly are available to purchase in advance or from the stadium box office on match-day, with adult tickets at £10 and Under 16s at £5.

To book in advance, click here, call 0871 2266060 or visit the Kingston Park Stadium box office

Newcastle Thunder Squad

Harry Aldous, Jack Aldous, Jared Blanke, Joe Brown, Jed Charlton, Rhys Clarke, Connor Clayton, Alex Clegg, Jymel Coleman, Tyler Craig, Sean Croston, Alex Donaghy, Liam Finn, Conor Fitzsimmons, Kieran Hudson, Sam Luckley, Liam McAvoy, Aaron Ollett, Liam Richmond, Alex Rowe, Evan Simons, Misi Taulapapa, Lewis Young,

Wakefield Trinity Squad

Chris Annakin, Tom Ashen, Yusuf Aydin, Connor Bailey, Jordan Baldwinson, Daniel Barcoe, Jack Croft, Jordan Crowther, Harry Dodd, Oli Greensmith, Titus Gwaze, Keegan Hirst, Luke Hooley, Owen Hughes, Justin Horo, Tom Johnstone, Jacob Jones, Max Jowitt, Lee Kershaw
Pauli Pauli, Ben Reynolds, Lewis Teale, Harri Van Der Waal, Lewis Wray, Kyle Wood